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ASL Starter Kit #2 Clarifications and
Unofficial Errata

Even though it corrects much of the errata from
ASLSK#1, ASLSK#2 contains a couple of regressions
and typos in addition to some genuine errata of its own.

Road Bonus

In 1.1.1 Terrain Types, the description of Roads should
read “... Infantry that crosses only roads ...” (the sentence
dropped a couple of words that appeared in ASLSK#1).
As long as throughout your entire movement you cross
from road hex to road hex via hexsides crossed by the
same road, you gain a 1 MF bonus.

Smoke

Smoke adds an extra MF/MP to the entry cost of a
SMOKE Location only during the Movement and Route
Phases. It does not affect advance during the Advance
Phase’ (see ASLRB A24.7).

LOS Obstacles

... an intervening same-level obstacle
never blocks the LOS of same-level
units.

—ASLRB 23.2 BUILDINGS

Obstacles at the same level or lower than both the firer
and the target do not block line of sight. For example, a
level 1 building on level 0 open ground does not block
the line of sight between a firer and target on level 1 hills.
The ASLSK line of sight rules are simplified and appear
to treat all buildings as level 1 obstacles.
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Pinned Effects

A pinned unit suffers a +2 penalty to its to To Hit DR
when firing Ordnance (see ASLRB A7.81). This penalty
is listed in the QRDC but I cannot find it in the rule book.

Quick Reference Data Chart (QRDC) and
Gun Charts

* The QRDC incorrectly states in the IFT DRM table
that fire by a CX unit conveys a -1 DRM. The DRM
should be +1.

 Item 17 in the 7o Hit Dice Roll Modifiers list from the
gun charts swapped the modifiers for small and large
targets. The modifier for small targets should be +1
and the modifier for large targets should be -1 (see
ASLRB C2.271).

Target Type TEM DRMs

In 3.2.4 To Hit Process under Effects, the text contradicts
the earlier description of TEM DRMs against the Infantry
Target Type (probably the result of a typo where TH DR
should have read IFT DR). The original description is
correct. The Infantry Target Type applies TEM to the
TH DR and not the Effects DR on the IFT (see ASLRB
C3.32, C3.33, C3.331, and C6.98).

Mortars

A mortar cannot be fired from the inside of a building
(see ASLRB B23.423). In full ASL, mortars can be fired
from a rooftop.

Loss of Target Acquisition

It may not be clear from the rule book, but target acquis-
ition is lost when a unit manning a Gun engages in close
combat because that constitues firing its inherent FP. As
additional clarification, a Gun may interdict the same
target without losing acquisition, but use in close combat
with or interdiction against a different target results in
acquisition loss (see ASLRB C6.5). That is in contrast to

2In ASLSK#1 it wasn't possible for smoke to last beyond the movement phase, so MMP probably overlooked this discrepancy when updating the
rules to reflect ASLSK#2 additions. Nevertheless, the omission may have been intentional. Therefore, as with all unofficial errata and clarifications,
be sure to verify the rule with the tournament director if playing in a tournament.
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the manning unit, which will cause acquisition loss when
engaging in close combat with or interdicting any target.

Inherent FP Forfeiture

Per ASLRB A7.353, forefeiture of inherent FP as a result
of firing a Gun or SW does not prevent a unit from using
inherent FP in Final Fire against adjacent units or Sub-
sequent First Fire (including Final Protective Fire). In
such instances, the normal rule of halving inherent FP
applies, as does the negation of inherent FP when using
maximum SW/Gun capability during those attacks.
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