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Rules Clarifications

Sekigahara is a fast-playing light wargame (arguably almost a themed abstract game) designed byMatt
Calkins and published by GMT Games. The game recreates in abstract terms the conflict in 1600 that led to the
unification of Japan under the Tokugawa Shogunate. Its rules are short and largely straightforward, but remain unclear
on a few points that players have interpreted inconsistently. The following rules clarifications address issues that
arose during my first playing of the game. The determinations are based on answers the designer has given in response
to player questions on public forums.

Overruns and Card Replenishment

8.10 Card Replenishmentmentions that card replenishment occurs after an overrun is resolved, but it doesn't clarify
if that includes overruns performed during the movement phase. The rule indeed applies to all overruns—those
performed during the movement phase and those performed as part of the retreat process during the combat phase.
If a player loses more than one block as the result of an overrun, he should draw one card for every two blocks lost
as a result of the overrun.

Refuting a Loyalty Challenge Against a Double Mon Card

8.6.1 Loyalty Challenge Cards Procedure explains that a player can refute a loyalty challenge by revealing a card
from his hand capable of deploying the newly-deployed block. 8.6.3 Loyalty and Double Cards states, “Only one
additional card must be displayed to refute the challenge, even if two blocks deployed.” The use of the word addi-
tional is confusing and the statement still does not make it clear if a double mon card must be displayed to refute
the challenge (only a double mon card is capable of deploying two blocks). In fact, a double mon card is not required.
A player need only reveal a card with the same mon as the deployed blocks, regardless of whether the card contains
one or two mon.

Splitting Stacks and Movement

You may split a stack at any point during its movement. Movement bonuses apply only to those units which fulfill
the condition of the bonus throughout the entire course of their movement. Movement penalties derive from the size
of the largest stack with which a unit moves during some part of its movement. After splitting a stack, forced
marching the new stacks requires discarding one card per stack. A unit may not benefit from more than one forced
march bonus during the course of its movement.

Destroying Undefended Disks

The Toyotomi Hideyori disk is not automatically captured if a Tokugawa stack enters Osaka when it is undefended
(here, we assume the Mori units are already on the board elsewhere). The Tokugawa player must lay siege to the
castle and deal at least one defender loss via at least seven impact points. Otherwise, Toyotomi remains on the board
uncaptured.
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Similarly, the Sanada Masayuki disk is not automatically destroyed when a Tokugawa force enters an undefended
Ueda. The castle must be besieged and at least one loss inflicted to destroy the disk.

Neither disk may be overrun because they are units in control of a castle (see 7.4.3 Overruns and Castles), despite
not having any movement or combat capacity.

Challenging the Loyalty of Ishida or Tokugawa

The Ishida and Tokugawa leaders may have their loyalties challenged if deployed via a card. A change in their loy-
alties should be thought of as if the leaders' retainers—not the leaders themselves—changed sides.
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