If an apostle or missionary is imprisoned, may
he move as a result of scattering?
Imprisoned apostles and missionaries may not move during
the Move step of the Live phase. Scattering does not occur
during the Move step. Therefore, an imprisoned apostle or
missionary may move as a result of a general scatter effect or
apostle-specific scatter effect. Think of it as though the
apostle or missionary is transferred to another prison.
What do you do if an apostle who is imprisoned
is imprisoned again?
The imprisonments overlap. An apostle who draws an
Imprisoned trial card may be subjected
to the effect of an Apostles Imprisoned
trial card drawn on a subsequent turn by another apostle. In
a two-player martyr-level game, the apostle may draw a
second Imprisoned card on the third
phase of his imprisonment. In the first case, there's no
additional effect; the apostle is already imprisoned by
the Imprisoned card. In the second
case, the apostle will be imprisoned for two additional phases
beyond the original three. The third phase of imprisonment by
the first card overlaps with the first phase of the second
In the Appeal to Caesar scenario,
if Paul is forced to scatter, may he stray from his specified
No. Paul may scatter only to a city or ship along the
movement route specified by the scenario.
Does the Perform Miracles trial
card grant +2 church members per apostle or missionary on the
board or only in the Elder's location?
Perform Miracles grants +2 church
members per apostle or missionary in all locations containing
an apostle or missionary. Therefore, if you haven't lost any
missionaries, you will gain a total of 12 church members. A
location containing one apostle and one missionary will gain 4
church members. A location containing 3 apostles will gain 6
church members. A location containing only one apostle will
gain 2 church members.
Is church growth from card effects optional? In other
words, may you add less members than specified by a card?
No. Only growth during the grow action is optional. If
you play a card that adds church members, the only way you may
add less members than specified is if the supply runs
If two or more churches are tied for largest population
(in the region or on the board) on Board B, which church is
extinguished or persecuted when directed by a trial card?
On Board A, the church closest to Jerusalem is affected.
On Board B, the church closest to its region's scenario start
city is affected. In both cases, if there is still a tie, the
If a church with Converted City
Leaders is extinguished through loss of
population, does it also lose Converted City
Yes. A city that loses its church loses its
Converted City Leaders protection. You
should remove Converted City Leaders
when its associated city no longer has a church.
When Mount Vesuvius Erupts is
drawn, does it affect the two largest churches at the time the
card is drawn or is the second church affected the largest
church after the effects of the first extinguishment is
The churches affected are the two largest churches at
the time the card is drawn. If there is only one church on
the board, then extinguish it and place two extinguished
tokens. If apostles fleeing the first extinguished church
make a church they flee to (call it Church
C) larger than the second largest church at the
time the card was drawn (call it Church
B, you still extinguish Church
B and not Church C.
When apostles move to an adjacent church after
a Worldly Priorities or Mount
Vesuvius Erupts extinguishment, are the rules for
scattering vis-à-vis ships followed? In other words, do
stops follow the apostles to their destination(s) after a ship
Yes. Stops on an extinguished ship follow the apostles
to their destination(s). Treat the post-extinguishment
flight as a scatter apostles effect where you can only scatter
to a church and not an empty location.